Different behaviour of the same option

General questions about using ExamDiff Pro, ideas for new features, bug reports, and usage tips.
Post Reply
AlexL
Expert Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 6:25 am
Location: Israel
Contact:

Different behaviour of the same option

Post by AlexL »

If we have enabled option:

Code: Select all

Tools->Options...->Misc->Messages->"Some comparison options have changed" message
and then toggle option:

Code: Select all

Tools->Options...->Text Comparison->Ignore white spaces in lines->All
then we indeed see the prompt "Some comparison options have changed. Would you like to re-compare now?" as it should be.
However, if we put the latter option (about spaces) to the customized toolbar and toggle it from there, then the re-compare procedure starts without any prompt.
Is this the designed behaviour?

ExamDiff Pro v12.0.1.8 (64 bits).
User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 2012
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Different behaviour of the same option

Post by psguru »

Yes. When you use the toolbar, it's effectively a command, and it consists of changing the respective option and recomparing.
psguru
PrestoSoft
JeremyNicoll
Expert Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 12:00 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Different behaviour of the same option

Post by JeremyNicoll »

That seems strange to me. Finding one's way into Options and navigating the options tree to locate a specific option is such a deliberate process that it's hard to see how one could do it accidentally ... so the warning then is unlikely to be needed - unless of course one changed the 'wrong' option.

But clicking a toolbar icon, perhaps the 'wrong' one, is a whole lot easier to do and it's just a single click. I'd have thought a user might more reasonably want the warning in that case.
User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 2012
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Different behaviour of the same option

Post by psguru »

It's not about safety of an option change, after all the change can be easily undone. The toolbar command is simply a shortcut, a one-click action, normally expected from toolbars. Think of it not as an option change but as "Recompare with a different option".
psguru
PrestoSoft
Post Reply