Encountered an improper argument

General questions about using ExamDiff Pro, ideas for new features, bug reports, and usage tips.
MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Thu Jun 02, 2016 5:23 am

Sometimes, while copying files form a directory pane to the other by clicking on the arrow on the bar at the side, I get the message "Encountered an improper argument", but I was never able to understand why and how to repeat it.
Now I think I got it.

On the side bar there are four areas:
one "standard", outside of the higlighted part (no diff); clicking on it does nothing;
one higlighted which, when the mouse is on it, shows a pop-up with diff infos;
a third area around the arrow, highlighted, that, when the mouse is on it, switches to "not highlighted" and shows the same pop-up as above; clicking on it starts the copy;
a fourth area, very thin, between the arrow and the upper "standard" (non higlighted) part, that, when the mouse is on it, switches the arrow to "not highlighted" but does not show the pop-up and, when clicked, generates the "Encountered an improper argument" message box.

Call me picky! :lol:

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1773
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by psguru » Fri Jun 03, 2016 8:28 am

Good find. One problem though: no matter how much we tried, we were unable to click on this forth area. We even changed the code do make it larger but the error was not there. How did you manage to do this (a screenshot would be welcome)?
psguru
PrestoSoft

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Fri Jun 03, 2016 11:50 am

Well, when I say "thin" I mean "thin". :)
I don't think I'm far from the truth if I say it's 1 pixel high!
But Murphy has a very good sight. :mrgreen:
Mine is not so good, instead, :( so my screen is 1280x1024 pixels and I'm working at 120 DPI and going over there is not so difficult.
Indeed I met the problem many times and, now that I know what to do, I can replicate it at wish.

N.B. No difference whether the file is missing in the other pane or is simply changed.
Attachments
Clipboard02.jpg
Clipboard02.jpg (76 KiB) Viewed 3526 times
Clipboard01.jpg
Clipboard01.jpg (39.8 KiB) Viewed 3526 times

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1773
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by psguru » Fri Jun 03, 2016 1:28 pm

Tried everything (resolution, DPI), no luck. I guess we'll just leave this alone until a better way to reproduce is found.
psguru
PrestoSoft

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Fri Jun 03, 2016 11:52 pm

I can add that the problem is not config-dependent.
I tried restoring the default configuration and the problem is there.
I also tried on my old faithful XP (32 bit): the same.
It seems very consistent and repeatable on both computers.
And, believe me, even ignoring Murphy :wink:, it's not at all so difficult to hit it with a click, even using the touchpad.
I'm very surprised you find it impossible to reproduce.
By the way: it seems that in the editor this "fourth" zone doesn't exist.

Well, I survived till now, I think I could still live with it. :D
Even more, since now I know how to get it and, also, how to avoid it. 8)

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Fri Dec 23, 2016 7:28 am

F.Y.I. Nothing has changed about this in version 9.

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1773
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by psguru » Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:10 am

Thanks for the update. It it possible to capture your actions in a short video?
psguru
PrestoSoft

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Sat Dec 24, 2016 12:35 pm

Sure!
What software do you suggest to capture the video? I haven't ever used one.

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1773
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by psguru » Sat Dec 24, 2016 5:58 pm

psguru
PrestoSoft

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Sun Dec 25, 2016 1:14 am

It seems that the various areas are always there but the problem appears only when the differences bar is hidden (as I usually have... Murphy at work!).
But there is more: if, after having triggered the message box, you enable the differences bar then the border marks go bananas...

N.B. Please note that I don't want to make you work on Christmas day! :D
Merry Christmas!

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1773
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by psguru » Mon Dec 26, 2016 5:58 pm

It seems that the various areas are always there but the problem appears only when the differences bar is hidden (as I usually have... Murphy at work!).
This was the missing piece of the puzzle, thanks. The fix will appear in the next 9.0 build.
psguru
PrestoSoft

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Tue Dec 27, 2016 1:05 am

Good!
As always, thank you very much.

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Sat Jan 14, 2017 1:22 am

Sorry to be such a p.i.t.a. but I see only a little change in EDP (9.0.0.6) behavior about this problem.
Now it seems that if, after having triggered the message box, you enable the differences bar then the border marks stay correct, but that's all. Of course this was the most dangerous effect, but...
I tried enabling logging, but no event was logged regarding the relevant topic, not even the apparition of the message box.

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1773
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by psguru » Sat Jan 14, 2017 10:22 am

This is odd indeed. Could you post a screenshot that shows exactly where you click?
psguru
PrestoSoft

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Sat Jan 14, 2017 3:19 pm

You can see it in the first screenshot I posted: on the side bar exactly at the border between the row of "What is ARCQ.txt" and the one of "CASCERR.H".
You know you are there because the arrow bos switches to "not highlighted" but no popup appears.
Slightly down and the popup appears, slightly up and the arrow becomes highlighted (yellow, in my case).

I'll try to make a video, hoping things get clearer.

By the way: it doesn't matter if the bar is the one of the right or the left pane.

Post Reply